Here Are The Stalwarts Speaking at IIT Kanpur’s Techkriti’16 Talks


“You never really learn much from hearing yourself speak.”

― George Clooney

IIT Kanpur’s Techkriti provides for an opportunity to budding engineers to gain scientific perspective. Thus, Techkriti ‘16 continues with its series of prestigious talks by renowned stalwarts of different fields.

Day 1 of Techkriti (3rd March) kicks off with a great talk by Dr Hamid Karzai, Honourable Ex-President, Afghanistan. Dr Karzai was chosen as Interim President in 2002, elected as President in 2004 and elected again for his second term in 2009, which ended in September, 2014. Dr Karzai has been conferred with a number of honorary degrees and awards, some of which include the Philadelphia Liberty Medal, an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Georgetown University and an honorary doctorate in literature from Himachal Pradesh University.

Day 2 of Techkriti (4th March) is heralded by the presence of Jorge Cham, a comicist, robotocist and the creator of ‘Piled Higher and Deeper’ (PhD) Comics. Jorge Cham earned a PhD in mechanical engineering from Stanford. He subsequently worked at Caltech as an instructor and as a researcher on neural prosthetics. Jorge Cham is very widely known for his talk called ‘The Power Of Procrastination’.

We will also hear Dr Lyn Evans, Director, Linear Collider collaboration at CERN. He has also served as the project leader of Switzerland-based Large Hadron Collider in the past. On December 11, 2012, he was awarded the 2012 Special Fundamental Physics Prize.

Day 3 of Techkriti (5th March) consists of a number of talks by eminent personalities.
Pradeep Sindhu, Co-Founder and CTO, Juniper Networks Inc. He is an IIT Kanpur alumnus and also holds an M.S. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Hawaii, and a Ph.D in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon University. Sindhu was instrumental in the architecture, design, and development of the Juniper M40 data.

All those who long for adventure are in for a treat. Mike Libecki, Nat-Geo 2013 Adventurer, is here to regale you with his varied experiences. He has completed 50 major expeditions and plans to do 50 more. He has also visited more than 100 countries.

To wrap it up for the day, we have India Innovators with us. Ravi Nawal is the author of ‘India Can’, which is a collection of 21 easy to read short stories. Each short story contains an idea that can create a favourable impact on the socio-economic growth of the country. Ravi Nawal has had a distinguished career as a management consultant focused on strategy.

Dr Pawan G. Agrawal is an International Motivational Speaker. He has done a Ph.D. on a thesis titled ‘A study of Logistics and Supply Chain Management of Dabbawala in Mumbai’.  He was awarded the Vocational Excellence Award 2008-09 by Rotary Club.

Vijay Talati is the Vice President of Engineering at Juniper Networks, that develops and markets networking products.

Day 4 of Techkriti ’16 (6th March) will feature more distinguished personalities and also our e-speak section.
Vikas Swarup is the official spokesperson of the Ministry of External Affairs of India. He is also a writer and diplomat. He has authored the book ‘Q&A’ which adapted into film as ‘Slumdog Millionaire’. He has also written ‘Six Suspects’ and ‘The Accidental Apprentice’. On 21 September 2010 the University of South Africa (UNISA) conferred the degree of Doctor of Literature & Philosophy (honoris causa) on Vikas Swarup at a graduation ceremony in Pretoria.

Other personalities for the e-speak section include -Sanjay Katkar is the MD and CTO, Quick Heal Technologies Limited; Anurag Batra, Chairman, Business World; Netanel Raisch, Co-founder & CEO Lishto and Amit Sethi, President and CEO, Axis Bank.

Thus we have 4 days of illuminating talks lined up for our budding engineers.

Disclaimer: iamwire is a media partner at Techkriti 2016

Have ideas to share? Submit a post on iamwire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>