Investments, News

Chat Based Commerce Platform Goodbox Buys Loyalty Cards App SmartPocket

Nexus Venture backed a chat-based mobile application for businesses and their consumers, Goodbox has acquired SmartPocket for an undisclosed amount.

Goodbox's Founding Team

Goodbox’s Founding Team

SmartPocket was co-founded by Kiran Shastri and Mayank Shah. Post acquisition, both founders will be joining the leadership team at Goodbox. SmartPocket is a a mobile app that allows customers to digitize their loyalty cards. The company helps users to keep a copy of their personal cards in the app that can be used whenever a copy is needed and remove the need to carry them all the time.

Speaking of the acquisition, Kiran Shastri, CEO & Co-founder of SmartPocket said, “We are excited about joining the team at Goodbox. We have a shared vision and now a shared goal. At Smartpocket, we wanted to create a marketplace with a focus on repeat business and customer loyalty through a digital wallet. We will now look to bring that mindset, technology and expertise with us into Goodbox.”

Goodbox provides a platform where customers can directly chat with a business as well as allows them to buy things directly, over messaging, from their trusted stores across multiple categories without having to download multiple apps.

In November 2015, the company had received its Series A funding of $2.5 million from marquee investor Nexus Venture Partners. And, it secured $200k in angel funding in May.

Goodbox was Co-founded by Abey Zachariah, Nithin Chandra, Mahesh Herle, Mohit Maheshwari, Anand Kelaginamani, Mayank Bidawakta and Charan Shetty. The company offers goods and services in Bangalore from over 1,800 merchants including restaurants, packers and movers, supermarkets, laundry chains and canteens among others.

Have ideas to share? Submit a post on iamwire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>