Twitter, in line with its announcement of going public, has recently launched a new feature to make verified users manage their conversations easily, as disclosed by company’s product manager, Ed Gutman in a blog post.
A verified user on Twitter is identified with a blue verified badge on his/her Twitter profile. The verification requests are not accepted in general from the public, but the accounts which get more popular are checked automatically for testing authenticity. Also, the ‘follower count’ does not come under criteria for verification.
To start with, verified users can go to their Connect tab on the web and toggle between mentions in three categories: all, filtered and verified. Selecting “Filtered” will show mentions based on an algorithm used to filter out spam, and choosing “Verified” means they’ll only see mentions from other verified accounts.
Currently available only on web, the feature will allow only the verified users to filter out the required conversations, while the mobile app users will not be affected by the changes.
With Twitter ready for an IPO, this move can really turn the things around for it, if it gets successful in increasing the user engagement on the platform. The users, who are looking at the platform to increase their networking or to market their brand, can benefit most with the service, by enhancing their conversations with the most relevant ones.
However, if considered the comments of the users on one of the mashable posts, the users were found to be quite furious with the change.
Recently, Facebook also revealed its intentions to launch a VIP-only app, of which only celebrities can get the access to use.
Though, this service could ease out the management of the conversations to some extent, at the same time it will also increase the chances of missing many tweets, as not everyone could make his/her name to the filtered list. Thus, only time could tell where this prioritization could lead these popular social networking channels.
To contact author, email at email@example.com